coppermine-gallery.com/forum

Support => cpg1.3.x Support => Older/other versions => cpg1.3 (BBS) Integration / Bridging => Topic started by: lcb_in_nyc on December 31, 2004, 09:07:07 PM

Title: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: lcb_in_nyc on December 31, 2004, 09:07:07 PM
hi there,

after reading through the instructions and completing them properly,
i've been reading this forum for an answer to my question, but to no avail. heres the problem;

-godaddy.com has phpBB2 set up under an "auto-install" application on their website that will automatically configure the messageboard (phpbb2) and install it onto my server.(From what i understand) the database they confirgure it to is not "mine",
but its a database on its own where other godaddy users host their messageboards too.
i guess this allows them to restrict the permissions to no end, but i believe that i cannot direct coppermine to this database due to these restrictions. my question is, if i config "phpbb.inc.php" to the database that phpbb is using, is my problem b/c of godaddy's restrictions?
anyone have experience w/godaddy & phpbb?
thank you for taking the time to help me. i need to learn more about how databases work, i guess:(

the error i am getting is as follows:

Fatal error :
There was an error while processing a database query

1.) Yes they are both installed on the same domain.
2.) Yes they were both working as stand alones.
3.) Yes the forums still work just fine, just cant get to coppermine.
4.) As of now, I cant even hit the logon page for coppermine.
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: kegobeer on December 31, 2004, 09:27:38 PM
You are running into problems because the two apps are using different databases.  Coppermine connects to the database used for the Coppermine tables.  It doesn't have the ability to connect to a different database.

$result = db_query($sql, $UDB_DB_LINK_ID);

You may be able to do something like this:

In functions.inc.php, find the function cpg_db_connect() and replace it with

function cpg_db_connect($dbserver1 = $CONFIG['dbserver'], $dbuser1 = $CONFIG['dbuser'], $dbpass1 = $CONFIG['dbpass'], $dbname1 = $CONFIG['dbname'])
{
        global $CONFIG;
        $result = @mysql_connect($dbserver1, $dbuser1, $dbpass1);
        if (!$result)
                return false;
        if (!mysql_select_db($dbname1))
                return false;
        return $result;
}


In the bridge file, at the start of each function that queries the database ($result = db_query), add
$open_phpbbdb = cpg_db_connect('yourphpbbdbserver', 'yourpgpbbdbuser', 'yourphpbbpass', 'yourphpbbdbname');

and at the end of each function, add
mysql_close($open_phpbbdb);

Now, this is completely untested, and I don't know if it will work.  You may also try searching the forums and reading each post that deals with this issue to see if anyone else posted something that works.
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: kegobeer on December 31, 2004, 09:34:42 PM
A better function might be

function cpg_db_connect($dbserver1 = null, $dbuser1 = null, $dbpass1 = null, $dbname1 = null)
{
        if ($dbserver1 == null) {
            $dbserver1 = $CONFIG['dbserver'];
            $dbuser1 = $CONFIG['dbuser'];
            $dbpass1 = $CONFIG['dbpass'];
            $dbname1 = $CONFIG['dbname'];
        }
        global $CONFIG;
        $result = @mysql_connect($dbserver1, $dbuser1, $dbpass1);
        if (!$result)
                return false;
        if (!mysql_select_db($dbname1))
                return false;
        return $result;
}


in case the global $CONFIG variable isn't available yet.
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: lcb_in_nyc on January 01, 2005, 12:10:55 AM
hey kego,

thanks for the input... i actually figured it out, it is now working using the phpBB's database, amazingly...
still running into a few problems, though...

-----
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: theme_display_breadcrumb() in /home/content/p/a/r/parrotland/html/coppermine/index.php on line 680
-----
any thoughts on this one  ;)
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: kegobeer on January 01, 2005, 12:38:03 AM
Post a link to your site.  Create a normal permission test user and post that login name/password here.  It looks like the theme information isn't being passed correctly, because that function should be in your theme.php file.
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: lcb_in_nyc on January 01, 2005, 01:18:13 AM
http://www.parrotland.org/coppermine/

username:Test
pass:Test

----
furthermore, i tried reinstalling the theme.php file directly from the zip file i downloaded, to confirm i didnt make any changes that i shouldnt have.

still, no dice:(
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: lcb_in_nyc on January 01, 2005, 01:27:22 AM
the only step i could not complete, is this:

5.3.6 Synchronsising the bbs groups with Coppermine's groups
Login using the admin account of your board. Go to the gallery, enter admin mode and click on the "Groups" button. This will synchronize Coppermine groups with those of your board. The permission you will see for each group will be completely messy, so take some time to set them properly.

Each time you add or delete a group in your board you will need to do the operation above in order to keep the synchronisation of the groups.

--------------------

it seemed to work without doing it.... i didnt do it because i COULD NOT do it...
in my phpBB admin, it does not show any groups as existing... nor is there a "groups" button. my options are:

Management 
Permissions
 

neither let me select any group, as there are no groups...


Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: Nibbler on January 01, 2005, 02:14:48 AM
That refers to the groups page in coppermine (groupmgr.php), not in phpbb.
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: lcb_in_nyc on January 01, 2005, 02:34:14 PM
ohhh. i see! ill try that. thanks -  ::)
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: lcb_in_nyc on January 01, 2005, 07:10:15 PM
ohh! how exciting. it (sorta) worked...
only prob is, cant login/out using the gallery. must the user always login/out through the messageboard to get to this? and if so, can i remove the "login/out" feature?

thanks! you guys are great help for students like myself... maybe one day ill know enough to help otehrs in return.... 
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: kegobeer on January 01, 2005, 07:40:33 PM
You forgot to mention you get this when attempting to login/out from Coppermine: No input file specified.

Check out http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=1795.0

You did create the cpg_redir.php file as instructed in the bridge instructions, correct?

The "no input file selected" message isn't a Coppermine issue, it's a server-setup issue.  Do a google search for it and see if any of those links help.
Title: Re: integration w/phpBB using godaddy hosting
Post by: lcb_in_nyc on January 01, 2005, 09:03:19 PM
yes... i did create a cpg_redir.php, and copied it into the main phpbb2/ directory.
the code is as follows.

<?php
if (!$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']) {
  
$cpg_host=$HTTP_SERVER_VARS['HTTP_HOST'];
} else {
  
$cpg_host=$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'];
}
$cpg_path='/coppermine';
header("Location: http://".$cpg_host.$cpg_path);
exit;
?>


is it possible i need to change permissions somewhere?
thank you again.
------
update: i changed permissions to my includes,albums and userpics as reccomended to enable silly-safe-mode, based on info given in the previous post's link.
now the admin nav bar is gone.
previously, in the admin area, it had already stated "silly safe mode on".
err. i feel like im making more of a mess than actually fixing anything...
will now do the google search...