coppermine-gallery.com/forum

Support => cpg1.3.x Support => Older/other versions => cpg1.3 Themes/Skins/Templates => Topic started by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 04:08:25 AM

Title: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 04:08:25 AM
I am so sorry, if this is covered, I am really unsure how to search for this question.

Ok here it is, I am creating a custom made theme, I got the background done, but what I want to change the look of, is the clickable links.

you know,
login
album list
forum
search

Well you get the idea, I want to add .gif / .jpg file, instead of the text. But what I do not understand is the way I go about doing that.

Any help, tutorial, or example would be VERY VERY VERY much appeciated.

Thanks
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: snork13 on February 17, 2005, 04:15:03 AM
look in your theme folder for the theme.php to add images to the top_menu and the style.css (top_menu a & a:hover) controls the links.

make backups before editing ;)

snork

Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 04:24:09 AM
thanks Snork, I will go give it a try
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 04:35:05 AM
 ???

when you say

top_menu,

do you mean:

<span class="navmenu"><a href="{LOGIN_TGT}">&nbsp;{LOGIN_LNK}&nbsp;</a></span><br />

Thanks
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: Tranz on February 17, 2005, 04:47:41 AM
That looks right. Just edit the part between the <a> tags to show your img. Make sure not to touch the tokens between brackets. The {LOGIN_LNK} can be used in the alt tag when you use your image.
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 05:41:49 AM
Well thanks, but what I want to happen is not happening, this is an example of the old code:

<span class="navmenu"><a href="{SEAACH_TGT}">&nbsp;&nbsp;</a></span><br />

And this is what I want it change to:

<span class="navmenu"><a href="{SEARCH_TGT}">&nbsp;<input type="button" value="Search" name="B12">&nbsp;</a></span>

But when I change it, the button shows up, but when I go to click the button, to go follow the link, nothing happens, what did I do wrong.

Thnaks
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: Tranz on February 17, 2005, 05:50:59 AM
You need to use <img src="path/to/image.jpg"> if you want images. Do you want to create a search input field, too? They're two different things that use different coding.
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 05:56:22 AM
Sorry, I really meant to say, I wanted to add an input field.
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: Tranz on February 17, 2005, 06:08:36 AM
If you want a search input field, you need to edit template.html of the theme you are using and add the following:
<form method="get" action="thumbnails.php" name="searchcpg">
<input type="hidden" name="album" value="search">
<input type="hidden" name="type" value="full">
<input type="text" style="width: 150px" name="search" maxlength="255" value="" class="textinput">
<input type="submit" value="search files">
</form>
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 06:21:32 AM
Ok, lets start again, I see where we are not connected.

This is what the old link is:
<!-- BEGIN album_list -->
 <span class="navmenu"><a href="{ALB_LIST_TGT}" title="{ALB_LIST_TITLE}"><{ALB_TGT</a></span>
<!-- END album_list -->

This is what I want
<!-- BEGIN album_list -->
 <span class="navmenu"><a href="{ALB_LIST_TGT}" title="{ALB_LIST_TITLE}"><input type="button" value="Album List" name="B1"></a></span>
<!-- END album_list -->

so instead of the default buttons, or IMG, I want to the buttons to be input type, to see what I am doing, go to:
http://jaysarahandy.com/photos/index.php

And look at what I have started.

Thanks for all your help
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: Tranz on February 17, 2005, 06:28:26 AM
Okay... I haven't seen such use of buttons so that would be why I didn't understand what you are talking about. The buttons point to the target pages. I don't understand what the problem is.

I don't know if it was a typo when you posted, but one of the tokens is missing the closing bracket.
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: donnoman on February 17, 2005, 07:48:31 AM
when you write html like that put it in BB code format when posting on the forum.

IE: hit the little button on the editor of the post that says "Code", type the stuff you want highlighted as code in between the two blocks.

I don't like using form inputs to create buttons, they are clutsy and prone to errors.

You need to either use CSS or judging by your skill level perhaps just stick with using images as buttons.

Rainy day is a good example of how to do buttons using images and allowing the text to vary. (IE each button is made up of slices, where the text appears the image is a background, and it lets you put any text on top of the button).

There are plenty of HTML resources out there that can teach you different button techniques.




Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: donnoman on February 17, 2005, 08:03:21 AM
This article talks about how to use form input buttons as hyperlinks

http://www.htmlgoodies.com/tutorials/buttons/article.php/3478861

This article talks about using CSS for buttons

http://www.westciv.com/style_master/house/tutorials/quick/buttons/
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: d1zz13 on February 17, 2005, 12:15:53 PM
You could effectively use both.

Input buttons that are styled with CSS.  Can produce some reasonable results, although I'm not 100% sure on browser compatibility.  ???
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 02:59:27 PM
Ok, I get the point, go with IMG buttons.

Well I will check out rainy day.

Thanks all
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 17, 2005, 05:58:28 PM
How do I make this topic solved.

I redid my template.
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: Joachim Müller on February 17, 2005, 06:03:24 PM
I marked it as "solved" for you - you just have to reply, saying that your issue has been solved and a moderator will flag the thread accordingly. Thanks for doing so ;)

Joachim
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 18, 2005, 10:01:52 PM
if any is interested, you can go to:

http://jaysarahandy.com/photos/index.php

I think 7 hours is long enough to make one....and this is my first.

Thanks for all the help
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: Tranz on February 19, 2005, 12:38:09 AM
That's pretty good to transform the layout you have in 7 hours. :) I think the buttons you use now are cool. They could be improved upon if you can make them in divs in size compable to the graphic so that the entire "button" is clickable rather than just the button text. Otherwise, good job.
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: snork13 on February 19, 2005, 12:40:53 AM
I might also change the text alignment in the css to be centered instead of left.

I like the look, great job!
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 19, 2005, 07:48:21 PM
Can you give me an example for the DIV, I know what you mean, but not sure how to go about the coding.

Thanks

Quote from: TranzNDance on February 19, 2005, 12:38:09 AM
That's pretty good to transform the layout you have in 7 hours. :) I think the buttons you use now are cool. They could be improved upon if you can make them in divs in size compable to the graphic so that the entire "button" is clickable rather than just the button text. Otherwise, good job.
Title: Re: changing a small area in coppermine
Post by: jaysonyates on February 19, 2005, 07:49:33 PM
Can you tell me where to add the center in CSS, I tried to do that, but to no avail, so I gave up.

Thanks
Quote from: snork13 on February 19, 2005, 12:40:53 AM
I might also change the text alignment in the css to be centered instead of left.

I like the look, great job!