Hey guys,
I uploaded new files via FTP in a file folder on my server. When I try to use the Batch Add function to link them to an album, I get a message "No new file was found" even thought they are all new files in the folder. The folder has no periods in the name (I did a search and found that to be the cause in the past). The folder and files in there have been chmoded with 777 permissions. I tried changing the name of the folder and files with no luck... Any idea guys?
Cheers,
Keith
does this folder happen to reside within "userpics"? Well, it mustn't. Create a folder outside of "userpics" (but within the "albums" folder) and you should be able to see it in batch-add.
GauGau
Hey Gau,
No, it does not. The folder 'BBQ 2004' resides in 'albums' but NOT in 'userpics' folder... strange eh?
Keith
hm, strange indeed. Could you post a screenshot from your ftp client that shows the content of the folder - maybe there's something strange with the files. Also make sure there's no .htaccess file inside the folder that disallows the listing of the folder.
GauGau
I could actually give you access to that folder if you want Gau so you can take a peek... there is no .htaccess file inside the folder.
But something else I noticed too... I get the same 'No new file was found' message with every folder I try to the batch add function to...
Keith
OK, then this is probably a permissions issue imo. Re-CHMOD your albums folder (make sure that the changes propagate to all child folders and files). Try both 755 and 777 and check if this makes any difference (don't trust the status you ftp client shows you).
GauGau
CHMODed 'albums' folder and child folders as well using 755 and 777 permissions.... still no luck. :(
Keith
hm, running out of ideas then. Please post a link to your page, so we can have a look.
GauGau
www.stlpreludeclub.com/pictures
Open an account and I'll give admin rights...
Thanks for your help!
Keith
you're apparently using cpg1.3.0 - please upgrade to cpg1.3.1 and report if this fixes things for you.
GauGau
Yeah, I'm on 1.3.0. How do I upgrade without blowning all the work I already did (albums, pictures, batch adds, etc)? I just uploaded 1.3.1 and it looks like I have to start from scratch. I did back up all the files + folders I overlaid.
Keith
no, you just download cpg1.3.1, unzip it, overwrite all files on your server with the files that comes with the cpg1.3.1 package and run "update.php" in your browser, that's it. You should backup include/config.inc.php before upgrading, and creating a mySQL dump won't hurt as well (might be handy if you should mess up, although the process is pretty fool-proof). Please refer to the documentation that comes with coppermine, there are detailed upgrade instructions in it.
GauGau
Thanks Gau... upgraded but still no worky...
Keith
glad to finale find a thread with the same problem i have.
followed all instructions you gave, GauGau, but it is still not working
my folders with the pictures are in the /albums folder, i checked the chmod stuff, upgraded to cpg1.3.1, but still "No new file was found"
@Keith: please send me an admin login by PM.
GauGau
QuoteThe folder 'BBQ 2004'
Have you tried renaming the folder to BBQ_2004? (Get rid of the space)
Quote from: kegobeer on July 19, 2004, 07:04:27 AM
QuoteThe folder 'BBQ 2004'
Have you tried renaming the folder to BBQ_2004? (Get rid of the space)
It shouldn't make a difference but I just tried and it still doesn't work.
Keith
Now this is strange: with the ftp data you sent me, I created a sub-folder within albums and CHMODed to 777 - as you already reported, there were no files visible in batch-add that were actually there. Then I CHMODed the folder to 755, and btach-add showed "folder not writable". I will have to look into searchnew.php (the file responsible for batch-add), will report back.
GauGau
OK, we're getting somewhere: when test opendir with a test script like this:
<?php $handle = opendir('/albums/gaugau'); ?>
on your server, I get this error message:
QuoteWarning: opendir(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/albums/gaugau) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/stlpc:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp) in /home/stlpc/public_html/pictures/test.php on line 1
Warning: opendir(/albums/gaugau): failed to open dir: Operation not permitted in /home/stlpc/public_html/pictures/test.php on line 1
Here's some info about "open_basedir restriction": http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=5852.0
You should try creating a tmp folder in your webroot (can't do that, since you gave me ftp powers on your coppermine folder only): http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=2403.0
Alternatively (or if doesn't help), contact your webhost on this issue.
GauGau
Quote from: GauGau on July 19, 2004, 06:18:56 PM
OK, we're getting somewhere: when test opendir with a test script like this: <?php $handle = opendir('/albums/gaugau'); ?>
on your server, I get this error message: QuoteWarning: opendir(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/albums/gaugau) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/stlpc:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp) in /home/stlpc/public_html/pictures/test.php on line 1
Warning: opendir(/albums/gaugau): failed to open dir: Operation not permitted in /home/stlpc/public_html/pictures/test.php on line 1
Here's some info about "open_basedir restriction": http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=5852.0
You should try creating a tmp folder in your webroot (can't do that, since you gave me ftp powers on your coppermine folder only): http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?topic=2403.0
Alternatively (or if doesn't help), contact your webhost on this issue.
GauGau
I created a tmp folder in the www directory and gave it full persmissions... still no luck. Gau, let me know if you would like full permissions to our webserver and I'll make it happen.
Keith
no, I think it's time to contact your webhost, trying to create a tmp folder's just a last straw.
Ask them about open_basedir restriction.
GauGau
Just so I understand the situation...
Coppermine is trying to create a temporary directory called 'tmp' using PHP code/function 'open_basedir' but it can't for some reason due to restrictions.. correct?
keith
not exactly. Coppermine is trying to open a file handle with the function opendir(), but isn't allowed to. For details, refer to http://www.php.net/manual/de/function.opendir.php and http://www.php.net/features.safe-mode
Most important is the error message posted above when the function is being executed (<?php $handle = opendir('/albums/gaugau'); ?>). In other words: tell them "if I use opendir(), I get the error XXX".
GauGau
Gau...
Opened a support call with my hosting server and gave them the error. I created a PHP file called test.php with your opendir code to reproduce the error...
They changed it to the full server path and it does not give that error.
path = /home/stlpc/public_html/pictures/albums/BBQ_2004
Script is here...
http://www.stlpreludeclub.com/pictures/test.php
I tried playing around the configurations and it still doesn't work...
Keith
OK, when I try to upload I get a different error:
QuoteFailed to create directory albums/albums/10006 !
Warning: mkdir(albums/albums/10006): No such file or directory in /home/stlpc/public_html/pictures/upload.php on line 2192
This seems to be a permissions error again, this time with mkdir (this creates a new sub-directory). Check CHMOD settings once again and report back.
GauGau
Quote from: GauGau on July 26, 2004, 07:10:39 AM
OK, when I try to upload I get a different error: QuoteFailed to create directory albums/albums/10006 !
Warning: mkdir(albums/albums/10006): No such file or directory in /home/stlpc/public_html/pictures/upload.php on line 2192
This seems to be a permissions error again, this time with mkdir (this creates a new sub-directory). Check CHMOD settings once again and report back.
GauGau
It's has 777 permissions... (all files, all folders starting from 'pictures' folders all the way down.
Keith
try 755, your server seems to be configured "exotically".
GauGau
Quote from: GauGau on July 26, 2004, 07:21:54 AM
try 755, your server seems to be configured "exotically".
GauGau
Now most of the folders are 'Not writable" when I go into the batch add files.
Thanks for you help Gau. Let me know if you want full FTP permissions to help track this problem down and I'll give you access. :)
Keith
urm, I think it's likely that your webhost has configured your server, so you're not able to run mkdir at all. Could you ask them for support again, asking if you can use mkdir and what CHMOD settings you will need for that?
Thanks
GauGau
Quote from: GauGau on July 26, 2004, 07:37:47 AM
urm, I think it's likely that your webhost has configured your server, so you're not able to run mkdir at all. Could you ask them for support again, asking if you can use mkdir and what CHMOD settings you will need for that?
Thanks
GauGau
They made some changes but I still can't get the batch add to work. Gau, do you want to try the mkdir again?
Keith
I have the same trouble, how did you guys solve this one?
Quote from: boesh on March 20, 2005, 10:38:22 PM
I have the same trouble, how did you guys solve this one?
We solved ours ;D
http://forum.coppermine-gallery.net/index.php?PHPSESSID=2aa53fd5a05ba4e69b742d7df15fdd36&topic=16039.0
i'm getting the 'no new files uploaded' too.... it used to work but doesn't now.... :(
i can see the folder and its writable but no luck of late....
dekade